The department of Anaesthesiology exists since the conception of this hospital in early 1962. However the department has been boosted up as the status of the hospital has changed by virtue of its attachment to the Wah medical college, Wah Cantt.

There are eight operating rooms in the main OT COMPLEX, and two dedicated operating rooms in department of ophthalmology. In addition to the anaesthesia services being provided to the above mentioned operating rooms the department is also taking care of fluoroscopy room for ERCPs under general anaesthesia and obstetric interventions in the department of OBGs.

Anaesthesia department is strengthened by one Professor, two assistant professors, and three medical officers as PGTs. They are looking after the workload, along-with the paramedical staff of about 30 members including the anaesthesia trained nurses.

The department provides anaesthesia care to all the disciplines of surgery which includes general surgery, thoracic surgery, trauma, emergency, and Orthopaedics, urology, neurosurgery, eye and ENT surgery and finally the obstetrics and gynecology surgical procedures.

Anaesthesia services are also extended to the department of radiology, and medicine. Surgical Intensive care, medical ICU neonatal and pediatric intensive care and coronary care units also enjoy the services of anaesthesia department for ventilatory care  specially and intensive care procedures generally.

This department has the workload of around 2300 patients per month on an average, including all the major and minor surgeries from all the disciplines. Although aim of the department is to take care of the sick and wounded patients but the teaching activities and training of  the students both undergraduates and the postgraduates  FCPS& MCPS  in Anaesthesiology goes side by side.